Skip to content

2013 A Year Of Many Changes

December 20, 2013

2013 has been a year where a number of things have changed in my life, in particular my online life.

For almost 6 years I have been publishing content on Squidoo, however changes to the site early this year resulted in a loss of over 60% of my traffic, and don’t even think about asking about my earnings there!

I have spent months trying to write elsewhere, while avoiding updating my web sites and blogs (including this one), playing addictive video games, and it’s really time I kicked myself into action again. What better time to do this than over the Christmas holidays and to get ready for a resurgence of fresh content in 2014.

One place that I have been writing since the summer is Bubblews, and I added a feed of my latest posts there to the sidebar here. Bubblews is a nice relaxed easy place to write, and although you are unlikely to earn a fortune there, since posts only stay fresh for a short time, it’s been easy for me to create quick updates on there and to meet new friends as well. I do feel somewhat regenerated having spent some time on there, and I think I now know which direction I need to go in.

I also have a book that I have procrastinated over writing for a couple of years now, and on a visit to my cousin in Wales in October I obtained copies of more documents about my Grandfather which will help to fill in some gaps in my knowledge about his time as a merchant seaman back in the early 1900’s. I really do hope that the book will be completed one day, and I keep putting off writing it because of lack of some areas when it comes to life on board sailing ships, but I think the best solution is to fill in the bits that I do know, embellish the rest and I can always learn the rest later or get a co-author even.

So Christmas is almost upon us, only 1 1/2 more days at work, and then a nice long break when I need to try and press forward with fresh ideas.

Wishing you a very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year for 2014.

From → Posts

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

